Pasta alla Clean Plater?

I was on the expressway, stuck in traffic, when I got the call: “I want pasta.” When your wife has a Clean Plater in the oven you don’t argue. Pasta it is! Immediately my mind went to the produce drawer full of eggplant back at Clean Plater HQ. Pasta alla Siciliana — I’ll make the sauce myself.

Of course, the best laid plans of mice and men…

I was standing in my kitchen (after half an hour of thinking of Pasta alla Siciliana) realizing I had no tomatoes, capers, anchovies, or black olives. This wasn’t going well. But hey! At least I have eggplant. The following is something I kind of threw together semi-inspired by Pasta alla Siciliana and whatever I had in my pantry.

Tools

  • large frying pan (with lid) or heavy pot (with lid)
  • wooden spoon (for stirring)
  • knife (for cubing and dicing)
  • can opener

Ingredients

  • Couple table spoons extra virgin olive oil
  • One large eggplant, cubed (half inch-ish in size)
  • 2 small onions, diced
  • 1 large green pepper, diced
  • 2 teaspoons of diced garlic
  • 4 oz jar of marinated artichoke hearts, roughly chopped
  • 2 cans fire roasted tomatoes
  • dried basil, dried oregano, pepper to taste
  • pinch of salt

Steps

  • Heat the olive oil in a heavy pot or large frying pan over medium heat
  • Add in the eggplant, onions, and green pepper, stirring occasionally. Move to next step when the eggplant has gone soft.
  • Add tomatoes, garlic, artichoke, spices and salt, stirring it all together. Let it cook like this for a few minutes.
  • Bring heat down to medium low/medium and put the lid on. Let cook for 30 minutes.
  • Serve over fresh cooked pasta
Eggplant, onion and green pepper softening over medium heat

Eggplant, onion and green pepper softening over medium heat

One response to “Pasta alla Clean Plater?

  1. Your secret is to make something delicious out of what you have on hand.bravo peter,love to all,grandmother

Leave a comment